National Nanotechnology Infrastructure Network

National Nanotechnology Infrastructure Network

Serving Nanoscale Science, Engineering & Technology

Technical Liaisons

Namesort descending Contact Expertise and Special Interests
Alpha, Chris
Cornell University
Process Engineer
alpha@cnf.cornell.edu
607-254-4913

Photolithography, electroplating, CMP, Molecular Vapor Deposition

Antoniou, Nicholas
Harvard University
Principal FIB Engineer
nicholas@cns.fas.harvard.edu
617-496-9682

Focused Ion Beam Milling for direct-write pattern generation, TEM sample preparation, cryogenic FIB-SEM, general sample prep and Imaging.

Beach, Katharine
University of Michigan
MEMS Domain Expert
beach@umich.edu
734-255-9487

MEMS fabrication, Microfluidics, Process Integration, Design

Bleier, Alan
Cornell University
Research Associate
bleier@cnf.cornell.edu
607 254-4931

Electron Beam Lithography; Optics; Process development for CNF users by Cornell grad student CNF Fellows; SEM; Energy Research Support.

Bojko, Rick
University of Washington
Sr. Research Engineer
bojko@uw.edu
206-616-3534

Electron Beam Lithography and SEM

Bordonaro, Garry
Cornell University
Photolithography Engineer
Bordonaro@cnf.cornell.edu
607-254-4936

Advanced Photolithography, including DUV

Borsa, Tomoko
University of Colorado at Boulder
Senior Scientist
tomoko.borsa@colorado.edu
303-735-6815

Technical expertise in electron beam lithography,  microscopy, general processing, deposition techniques and dry etching.

Braswell, Scott
University of Washington
Research Engineer
sbras@uw.edu
206-685-6774

Transmission electron microscopy

Brown, Devin
Georgia Institute of Technology
Senior Research Engineer
devin.brown@mirc.gatech.edu
404-385-4220

electron beam lithography and nanofabrication processes

Cibuzar, Greg
University of Minnesota
Lab Manager
cibuzar@umn.edu
612-625-8079

MEMS process development

Cord, Brian M.
University of Minnesota
Research Associate
bcord@umn.edu
612-626-3287

Electron beam lithography and electron microscopy

Craigg, Helene
University of Michigan
Geosciences Domain Expert
helenec@umich.edu
734-615-9668

Geosciences, Environmental Sciences

Deal, Michael
Stanford University
Sr. Research Scientist and SNF Director of Education
mdeal@stanford.edu
650-725-3607

Education Director for SNF.  Also Senior Research Scientist specializing in advanced nanoelectronics materials science.

Drawl, William
Pennsylvania State University
Deposition Technical Lead
wrd1@psu.edu
814 863 1326

Thin film deposition

Eichfeld, Chad
Pennsylvania State University
Nanolithography Research and Development Engineer
cme133@psu.edu
814-865-8976

advanced nanolithography instruments and processes

Gehoski, Kathleen
Pennsylvania State University
Lithography Technical Lead
kag31@psu.edu
814 865 7443

Photolithography

Genova, Vince
Cornell University
Process Engineer
genova@cnf.cornell.edu
(607) 254-4907

Reactive Ion Etching; MEMS; III-V device processing and advanced CMOS device processing; design of experiments

Gottfried, David
Georgia Institute of Technology
Senior Research Scientist
dsgottfried@gatech.edu
404-894-0479

Surface functionalization and characterization; biomolecule and polymer deposition using ink-jet printing and other technologies; nanoparticle characterization; chemical and biological sensor development;

Hathaway, Mac
Harvard University
Senior Process Engineer
hathaway@cns.fas.harvard.edu
617-495-9012

ALD, CVD, Safety, Wetbench and Chemical Safety, Toxic Gas Monitoring, Equipment Access Systems

Henderson, Walter
Georgia Institute of Technology
Research Scientist
walter.henderson@gatech.edu
404-309-8023

Surface-science characterization techniques including XPS, Auger, SIMS/ToF-SIMS

Herrera-Fierro, Pilar C
University of Michigan
Surface Science Domain Expert
pilarhf@umich.edu
734-646-1399

Surface Analysis, CMP, Electrochemistry, Metrology, AFM, SEM, Analytical Chemistry, Soft Lithography, Dip Pen Nanolithography

Hixson, Leonard
University of Washington
Research Engineer
lhixson@uw.edu
206-221-9358

Facility support

Hower, Robert W
University of Michigan
Biomedical MEMS Expert
hower@umich.edu
734-827-4370

MEMS fabrication, Process Integration, Biomedical Sensors

Ilic, Rob
Cornell University
Research Associate
rob@cnf.cornell.edu
607-254-4894

Process integration, Electron Beam and Optical Lithography for aggressively scaled dimensions, microscopy (eletron, optical, scanned probe), nanoscale characterization, Micro and nanomechanical structures, Fluid structure interactions, non-linear dynamics, nanomagnetics

Infante, Phil
Cornell University
Safety Manager and Silicon Process Engineer
infante@cnf.cornell.edu
607-254-4926

CVD processes; lab safety

Joseph, Paul
Georgia Institute of Technology
Senior Research Scientist
paul.joseph@mirc.gatech.edu
404-894-5029

Nanobiotechnology, Bio-MEMS, and Biosensors' applications such as Diagnostics and Detection systems.

Kosar, Turgut Fettah
Harvard University
Technical Manager, NanoMaterials Facilities
fkosar@cns.fas.harvard.edu
617-495-1738

soft lithography, microfluidics, bioMEMS, micro-/nanofabrication, X-ray MicroCT

Lavalle, Guy
Pennsylvania State University
Etch Technical Lead
gpl107@psu.edu
814 865 9339

Wet and dry etching

Lawler, Kris
University of Washington
Research Engineer
kflawler@uw.edu
206-221-5821

Lithography

Lingley, Andrew
University of Washington
Research Engineer
alingley@uw.edu
206-221-6349
Magyari-Kope, Blanka
Stanford University
Computational Scientist
blankamk@stanford.edu
(650)-740-3921

Band structure and electronic transport effects of nanointerfaces between metallic, insulating, and semiconducting materials of novel and technologically relevant materials in metal gate/high-k MOS structures and nonvolatile memories.

Marti, James
University of Minnesota
Outreach Coordinator
jmarti@umn.edu
612-626-0732

Formation and characterization of nano- and micron-scale particles.

McClelland, Arthur
Harvard University
Microscopy Scientist
amcclelland@cns.fas.harvard.edu
617-496-8250

Advanced Microscopy

Mitchell, William J
University of California at Santa Barbara
Principal Development Engineer
mitchell@ece.ucsb.edu
805-893-4974

Electron Beam Lithography/SEM/AFM/ALD

Mnaymneh, Khaled
University of Michigan
NNIN Outreach Coordinator
kmnay@umich.edu
734-764-7077

III-V Semiconductors, Photonics, Mesoscopic Systems, Dispersion Engineering, Epitaxy and Quantum Systems

Myers, Ed

edmyers@stanford.edu
650-725-4702

Process Integration

Myhajlenko, Stephan
Arizona State University
Associate Director, CSSER
myhajlenko@asu.edu
480-965-2697
Pakhomov, Alec
University of Washington
Lab Manager, NTUF
pakhomov@uw.edu
206-616-2118

Expertise: Nanotechnology; materials characterization including XRD, Raman, ellipsometry, AFM; magnetic and electronic nanomaterials; spin electronics.

Palard, Maylene
University of Texas at Austin
Research Associate
marylene@mer.utexas.edu
512-965-6671

Nanoimprint expert: mold making by E-beam lithography,  imprinting, dry plasma transfer etch

Ray, Vishva P
University of Michigan
E-Beam Domain Expert
vpray@umich.edu
(734) 478-1747

E-beam Lithography, Nanofabrication, Biomedical sensors

Reynolds, Tom
University of California at Santa Barbara
Principal Development Engineer
reynolds@ece.ucsb.edu
805-893-3918

lab management UCSB

Rhoades, Beth
Cornell University
Biological Devices Engineer and Research Associate
rhoades@cnf.cornell.edu
607-254-4918

Microfluidics, Biosensors, Biological Applications of Nanotechnology

Schilling, Paul
University of Washington
Research Engineer
schilp3@uw.edu
206-616-5725

chemical vapor deposition section, diffusion, and back end of line (BEOL)

Shiari, Behrouz
University of Michigan
Computational Scientist
bshiari@umich.edu
734-615-4804

Modeling and simulation of micro/nanosytems (MEMS/NEMS, Micro/Nanofluidic Devices), Multiscale Modeling, Coupled Finite Element Analysis, Atomistic Simulations

Stewart, Derek
Cornell University
Computational Scientist
stewart@cnf.cornell.edu
(607) 255-2856

Predictive first principles approaches to model nanostructures and materials, electronic and thermal transport, and phonon and magnetic properties of materials.

Stopa, Michael
Harvard University
NNIN Computation Coordinator; Computational Scientist
stopa@cns.fas.harvard.edu

Mike is a computational physicist and material scientist specializing in transport in semiconductor heterostructures and the self-consistent electronic structure of quantum dots and nanowires. He is the Network Coordinator for Computation for NNIN.

Thibeault, Brian
University of California at Santa Barbara
Project Scientist
thibeault@ece.ucsb.edu
805-893-2268

Advanced Processing; UCSB User Contact

Thomas, Mikkel
Georgia Institute of Technology
Research Engineer
mikkel.thomas@nrc.gatech.edu
404-385-8536

Processing

Tresback, Jason S.
Harvard University
Senior Metrology Engineer
jtresback@cns.fas.harvard.edu
617-496-1783

Metrology

Tsakirgis, John
Harvard University
Senior Nanofabrication Engineer
jtsakirg@cns.fas.harvard.ed
617-686-2939

CVD Processes

Pages